Posted in Legwork Wednesday, life, writing

Legwork Wednesday for April 5, 2017

Legwork Wednesday is a weekly writing/reading/general life update. By recounting my week’s activities, I can chart my progress, update any of you who might be interested, and keep myself accountable. You’ve got to do a lot of legwork to solve the puzzle and reach your goal.

Writing: I’m hard at work on a short story for the Ontario Book Publishers Organization’s 2nd annual What’s Your Story? Short Prose and Poetry Competition for Emerging Writers (deadline: May 1st, 2017, 1300 to 1500 words). The very short word limit and the setting (one of four main Toronto neighbourhoods) makes for a unique challenge. As a new(er)comer to Toronto (I’ve been here about a decade and lived in two of the four neighbourhoods), I’m thinking a lot about authenticity and what story I want to tell. My goal is a workable draft finished by Friday. I’ve also set up a calendar of interesting story competition deadlines for May. Having returned to writing after a five-year hiatus, I want to build up a new portfolio of work, so writing a new story for a number of deadlines creates a helpful schedule and structure. Finally, I’m planning some site research for my novel, visiting a few places that I can walk through and take in to help the setting for my mystery novel come to better life in my head.

Reading: I’m enjoying a new book about one of my favourite sleuths, Flavia de Luce. I found the previous book, As Chimney Sweepers Come to Dust, to be a misstep, sending Flavia to an elite boarding school in Canada, completely replacing the beloved cast and setting of the first six books, and not really giving us enough of a compelling mystery. Saskatchewan native Alan Bradley’s eighth Flavia book, Thrice the Brinded Cat Hath Mewed, is a return to form, with our twelve-year-old chemistry-obsessed protagonist discovering a body in the quaint 1950s English countryside and immediately haring off after the clues, irrespective of what poor Inspector Hewitt wishes.

Work: We made our massive deadline in-house, our entire year’s worth of work handed in on Friday, and I also made my three freelance deadlines last week. I really need to stop taking on too much freelance. I know this. I just have to enact it better. This week I’m enjoying getting full nights of sleep and not feeling a deadline breathing down my neck.

Health and Beauty: I’ve damned near gotten a free-hand liquid liner cats-eye down. As a way to deal with anxiety, I went from being someone who sometimes brushed on some mascara to learning a full skincare and makeup regimen that I do pretty much every day. It might sound silly, but taking twenty or thirty minutes, using high-quality makeup and the right tools, applying techniques I had to learn and practice to get right, and then feeling good about the effect I’ve achieved go a long way to making me feel prepared for the day. It’s a combo of taking time for myself, following a series of steps, and having a tangible result at the end, and also feeling good about myself. Also, dry shampoo? Where has that been all my life! Makes my morning gym routine so much easier.

That’s it for this Wednesday! Thanks for reading 🙂 Any mystery recs for me, or favourite makeup YouTubers you recommend? I’d love to hear from you in the comments!

Author:

An editor and mystery writer. Loves coffee, tea, and wine, ballet, theatre, and opera, books, books, and books.

Leave a Reply

