Posted in Legwork Wednesday, life, writing

Legwork Wednesday for April 26, 2017

Legwork Wednesday is a weekly writing/reading/general life update. By recounting my week’s activities, I can chart my progress, update any of you who might be interested, and keep myself accountable. You’ve got to do a lot of legwork to solve the puzzle and reach your goal.

Writing: My short story for the OBPO What’s Your Story? contest is finally done and edited. It took a lot out of me! Finding the balance between description and emotion, and trying to convey something actually happening to someone I hope the reader cares about in the space of 1400 words was not easy. Now I’m working on a draft for the Malahat Review Far Horizons short fiction contest (3500 words, deadline May 1). It’s a story that came out of nowhere, the first thousand words dropping fully-formed from my brain in twenty minutes of typing. Figuring out what happened next was something of a challenge, but I like where this strange little story is going. Ideally I’d also like to finish something for the Cosmonauts Non-Fiction Prize, mostly because it’s judged by the glorious Roxane Gay, but I don’t think I’ll have time. It’s also due May 1st. We’ll see how the weekend goes…

Reading: I’m more than halfway through listening to the full-cast production of Neil Gaiman’s 10th anniversary edition of American Gods. I’ve read this book several times, though never in this extended version, and it’s wonderful to revisit it in audio form in anticipation of the tv show. The vocal casting is brilliant throughout, and the expanded edition (with an extra 12,000 words) expands on the book’s road-tripping meandering strangeness (which, if it doesn’t sound like it, is a compliment). I’ve begun reading The Last Days of Night by Graham Moore (who wrote The Sherlockian), about the rivalry between Thomas Edison and George Westinghouse and the race to electrify America.

Work: In-house, I’m elbows-deep in a copyedit of a very long, very detailed field guide to various fish. It’s satisfying to flex my copyediting muscle but a bit mind-numbing in content. This Star Wars Spotify playlist has been helping. I’m taking a wee break from freelancing this week to give my brain a rest, then diving into a sci-fi line edit from a longtime client that should arrive Monday.

Fun stuff: We just rewatched all of Guillermo del Toro’s marvellous animated series Trollhunters on Netflix. It’s such a wonderful series, and I strongly recommend it. The character building is truly excellent, and the world is so much fun. It’s full of trademark del Toro visuals and mythology. I can’t wait for season 2.

A&B

That’s it for this Wednesday! Thanks for reading 🙂 Any book recs? Thoughts on Trollhunters or writing? Share in the comments!

Author:

An editor and mystery writer. Loves coffee, tea, and wine, ballet, theatre, and opera, books, books, and books.

Leave a Reply

